IELTS Speaking

IELTS (International English Language Testing System) is accepted by more than 9,000 universities, government bodies and professional organisations as proof of language ability. There are four papers: Reading, Writing, Listening and Speaking.

The IELTS Speaking test is a face-to-face interview between the candidate and an examiner which takes 11-14 minutes and is divided into three parts. Each part simulates a different scenario for candidates to communicate in.

Part 1 – Conversation (4-5 min)
Part 2 – Presentation (3-4 min)
Part 3 – Discussion (4-5 min)

During the test, IELTS candidates will be marked on four criteria:

  • Fluency and coherence
  • Lexical resources
  • Grammatical range and accuracy
  • Pronunciation

View the complete IELTS Speaking assessment criteria.

Higher level IELTS candidates should speak naturally and be able to use a wide range of vocabulary and expressions in the relevant context, whilst developing their answers accordingly.

Upon completion, an IELTS Test Report Form will be sent to candidates with IELTS scores for all four skill areas: listening, reading, writing and speaking, and the overall band score. The Test Report Form is valid for a recommended period of two years.

The content of the IELTS Speaking test is the same for both the IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training tests.
It is important to note that the speaking exam questions change periodically. Each new exam cycle retains approximately 70% of the content from the prior exam cycle, while 30% of new material will be added.